Cove Harbour
This place is magical, picturesque . It is also steeped in history.
Cove harbour is entered by a 180ft/55m tunnel, not seen from the village. It dates from the 1750's and once contained cellars which were used to store fresh salmon and herring, as well as cured and barrelled white fish.
Rich in the 18th century smuggling tales it is approached down a steep pathway from Cove village. At the bottom of the hill dynamite was used to create a dramatic tunnel in the soft sandstone rocks around 1700. There is more high drama in the natural rock formations and the famous hollow rock.
Alternatively, just enjoy pretty fishing boats and the sea views, sit on the quiet beach or explore some of the rock pools beyond the harbour wall.
Cove village and harbour has a long fishing history and due to its hidden nature and tunnels, ideally suited to storing contraband, it has often been associated with smuggling.
In 1881, eleven men from Cove lost their lives in the great East Coast Fishing Disaster.There is a monument that remembers this tragedy at Cove Village. Find our more at the new St Abbs visitor centre.
Used as a landing place since at least the 17th century, the present harbour dates from 1831 and was built by the Hall family of Dunglass to facilitate the transport of coal mined inland.